Philippines – Update on measures to minimize the spread of COVID-19

26 August, 2020


The designated operator of the Philippines, PHLPost, asks us to update other Union member countries and their designated operators on the stringent social distancing measures aimed at curtailing and eliminating the COVID-19 threat that are in force throughout the Philippines:

The Government of the Philippines has extended the community quarantine within the Philippines until 31 August 2020:

  1. The following areas are placed in general community quarantine:
  • Luzon island: National Capital Region and the provinces of Batangas, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, Nueva Ecija, Quezon, and Rizal;
  • Visayas island: Cebu City, Iloilo City, Lapu-lapu City, Mandaue City and City of Talisay, as well as the municipalities of Minglanilla and Consolacion in the province of Cebu;
  1. The remaining areas in Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao islands are placed in modified general community quarantine.

PHLPost thanks all Union member countries and their designated operators for their understanding.