Rwanda – Measures to limit the spread of COVID-19

02 August, 2021


The designated operator of Rwanda, the National Postal Corporation (Iposita), asks us to inform other Union member countries and their designated operators that, in order to reinforce the measures aimed at combating the spread of COVID-19, the Rwandan Government has decided to extend the lockdown declared in the capital, Kigali, and in eight other districts (Burera, Gicumbi, Kamonyi, Musanze, Nyagatare, Rubavu, Rwamagana and Rutsiro), until 31 July 2021.  A travel ban is in place  between Kigali and other provinces, as well as between other districts.  This decision will remain in force until 31 July 2021, and in certain areas until 10 August 2021.

Iposita's operational performance in Kigali and the other affected districts will be severely impacted by these measures, since they limit its processing and delivery resources and affect its capacity in terms of volume and quality of service.

Iposita thanks all other Union member countries and their designated operators for their understanding; it will inform them via EmIS when the situation has returned to normal.